Top 50 Falcons of last 50 seasons

Atlanta Falcons

Falcons have been playing football in Atlanta for 50 seasons. (Curtis Compton/AJC)

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution counted down the Top 50 players in Atlanta Falcons history during the franchise’s 50th anniversary season. Look through images and click back through the all-Falcons team.

Top 50 Falcons Countdown

50: Chuck Smith
49: Michael Haynes
48: Jonathan Babineaux
47: John Zook
46: Ken Reaves
45: Lynn Cain
44: Justin Blalock
43: Bobby Butler
42: Tim Mazzetti
41: Buddy Curry
40: Scott Case
39: Jeff Merrow
38: Elbert Shelley
37: Matt Bryant
36: Alge Crumpler
35: Michael Turner
34: Ray Buchanan
33: Chris Hinton
32: Terance Mathis
31: Devin Hester
30: Don Smith
29: Greg Brezina
28: Chris Miller
27: John James
26: Bob Whitfield
25: Rolland Lawrence
24: Alfred Jenkins
23: Billy Johnson
22: Chris Chandler
21: Morten Andersen
20: John Abraham
19: George Kunz
18: Jamal Anderson
17: Keith Brooking
16: R.C. Thielemann
15: Tony Gonzalez
14: Andre Rison
13: Julio Jones
12: Roddy White
11: Steve Bartkowski
10: Michael Vick
9: Bill Fralic
8: Gerald Riggs
7: Matt Ryan
6: Jesse Tuggle
5: Jeff Van Note
4: Warrick Dunn and William Andrews
3: Deion Sanders
2: Mike Kenn
1: Tommy Nobis and Claude Humphrey

Reader Comments 0


I still can't wrap my head around the fact Tommy Nobis hasn't been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The first Falcons game I attended was the final game of their initial season. They played the Pittsburgh Steelers and you could tell all the Falcons players wanted to do that day was collect a paycheck. Except Tommy Nobis. He and every defensive player that day chased UGA great Preston Ridlehuber all over the field. The Falcons got beat that day. But Tommy Nobis played his heart out.